Ross’s Grill – Provincetown

For our first night in Provincetown (and after a brief siesta to get out of the midday heat), Yue and I met up with our friend’s at Ross’s Grill in the heart of Provincetown’s main drag. Ross’s is located on the second level of a multi-tiered open air shopping complex and looks out over the harbor. We were fortunate enough to get a table right by the windows, and we had a great view while we ate.

We started things off with a round of drinks (we did quite a lot of drinking this past weekend), and put in an order for the raw bar. We each had a few oysters and shrimp apiece, most likely pulled out of the bay just a few hours prior. Growing up in Rhode Island, I’ve always been a bit spoiled when it comes to seafood. I’m not big on fish, but I do love shellfish, and living where I did (and presently do) means that I have access to very fresh fish, and all of the shellfish I had while out on the Cape was amazing. I think it probably has something to do with the water quality, but the flavors were very robust, and the portions were huge.

For our main courses, Yue chose a seafood paella. The picture doesn’t really do it justice, and it’s a little hard to see the various mussels, lobster, and scallops in the risotto, which was itself very well prepared. I went with a roasted duck with a citrus glaze. I think I’ve mentioned here before that I like to get duck when I see it on the menu, because it’s not something I have terribly often, and it diversifies my usual repertoire of pork, beef, and chicken. It was savory and a bit gamey, and actually paired fairly well with the oysters I had earlier.

In all, Ross’s was a great first stop on a night out. We had a hearty, filling meal, and then proceeded up and down Commerical Street to a variety of different bars, the highlight of which we returned to for dinner on Saturday. But that’s another story for a different post, so stay tuned.

Leave a comment